Yeah, this cake. It’s a bit over the top isn’t it. Even though I’ve been at this blogging thing for over 3 years now, I’ve never actually made a proper layer cake for the blog. Chris made one (his infamous rainbow cake with vimto buttercream and fizzy rainbow belt), but not me!

This one came about because I’d been testing a recipe for Neff, and I ended up with three sponges leftover. I considered slathering them in jam and serving them up for dinner (yeah, sometimes we have cake for dinner - that’s why I’ll probably never be able to go for a jog without jiggling at least a bit), but then I decided to go the other way and go a little over the top. So I ransacked the freezer for ice cream, and the cupboards for peanut butter, Nutella and Carnation Caramel (with a pinch of salt stirred in), and then pretty much squished it all together into a big, slightly melty, pile of calorific loveliness.

In the end, I decided it would be a good idea to serve up a salad for dinner, then finish off with this epic pud. Large slices were enjoyed whilst watching a Percy Jackson film (Gracey always seems to have her head stuck in a Percy Jackson book at the moment) with the kids.

I’ll never be a master cake maker like my sister - she makes the most beautiful wedding and birthday cakes - but it did taste flipping delicious. So I’m good with that 🙂

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel Recipe:

   

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 32Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 60Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 41Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 30Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 55Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 12Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 90Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake with Salted Caramel - 50