I LOVE how pretty these ruffle bars are! Look at that vibrant pink colour! Totally artificial. You ain’t getting this colour from pureed raspberries. No, these ruffle bars get that pinkish loveliness from raspberry jelly crystals. I got the inspiration for these from Baking Bar - although I changed things up a little by using more coconut, replacing evaporated milk with condensed milk (for that coconut ice flavour/texture) and adding a little milk chocolate to the dark chocolate simply because I needed to use up some of the leftover Easter egg chocolate we’ve still got in the house!

I used to love Raspberry Ruffle bars from the shop, but I haven’t seen them in years! I seem to remember the filling being very sweet with that not-made-from-actual-raspberries flavour that you associate with Slush Puppies and Starburst. I was on the brink of going down the natural raspberry route (like I do for my raspberry macaroon granola), and then I stumbled across Baking Bar’s recipe. Raspberry jelly crystals were the perfect answer to get that kind of sweetie-inspired flavour (all you real-food foodies please look away now!).

The bars by themselves are pretty sweet. Covering them in a mixture of milk and dark chocolate adds just that hint of bitterness that works so well with the sticky coconut.

A few tips for you:

If you liked these then why not try my Tropical Chocolate Bars or my chocolate raspberry bites.

Raspberry Ruffle Bars Recipe:

Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 48Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 62Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 83Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 51Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 14Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 79Raspberry Ruffle Bars - 32